WEBCAST: Findable, accessible, interoperable, reusable

Share this on social media:

Liz Bal, Ian Harrow, Marta Teperek

Why open or FAIR data is crucial to support scientific research in academia and industry

REGISTER HERE!

In the last five years – since a wide coalition of stakeholders set out and endorsed the application of FAIR principles to research – the principles of findability, accessibility, interoperability, and reusability have become widely recognised and accepted.

Since they were first published, the FAIR Principles have achieved widespread acceptance, and have been adopted as standards for management of data, development of infrastructure and delivery of services.

The advent of Covid-19 has further illustrated how critical the implications of open and FAIR data, with organisations worldwide recognising the importance of open science in fighting the pandemic – and scientific discovery evolving at previously-unseen rates.

In this one-hour panel discussion webcast, organised by Research Information and Scientific Computing World, three experts representing academia and industry will explain why open and FAIR data is crucial to supporting research both now and in a post-Covid world. 

Our panel comprises three experts with decades of experience in academia, librarianship and industry and will explore the progress of the FAIR movement since its inception in 2016, its importance going forward as science looks forward to an increasingly open future, and the ongoing importance of encouraging good data practice.

Don’t miss out – join us for this free webcast on 4 March at 3pm UK time (4pm CET, 10am EST)!

Presenters:

Marta Teperek,

Head of research data services at TU Delft, Netherlands

Liz Bal,

Director of open research services, Jisc

Ian Harrow,

FAIR Implementation project manager, Pistoia Alliance

Webcast hosted by Tim Gillett, editor, Research Information; and Robert Roe, editor, Scientific Computing World

Other tags: