PRODUCT

Sage Recommends

Sage and Expert System have released Sage Recommends, a discovery capability within the Sage Knowledge platform that provides users with links to related Sage content to support academic research.

Powered by Luxid software, the feature uses Sage's proprietary social science taxonomy to reveal connections between content and concepts across disciplines.

First appearing on the recently enhanced Sage Knowledge platform, Sage Recommends suggests further reading within the context of a book chapter, reference entry, or streaming video – referring readers to related journals, datasets, and other reference material hosted on other Sage platforms.

The feature brings together the knowledge mined from Sage’s 1.5 million journal articles and more than 250,000 book chapters and reference works. Sage says it enables a 'serendipitous research experience' across all of Sage’s content platforms, leading students and faculty to uncover relationships between topics across the social science disciplines.

'Sage Recommends is the first of its kind to offer a truly cutting-edge research tool for social scientists,' said Martha Sedgwick, executive director of product management at Sage. 'The multidisciplinary thesaurus under the hood of Sage Recommends presents contextualised links across social science fields at the point of need, offering the right research recommendations at the right time across all of Sage’s platforms.'

SAGE and Expert System will host a live webinar on January 28 at 8:00 am PT/11:00 am ET/5:00 pm CET to discuss how users can best apply the new semantic capability of Sage Recommends to better support research. Interested participants should RSVP here.

Company: 
Feature

Open access looks set to shake up the humanities and social sciences book landscape for the better, reports Rebecca Pool

Interview

Nigel Lee, CEO at Glasstree Academic Publishing, describes how he wants to transform scholarly communications