APA chooses winner of 2013 Excellence in Librarianship Award

Share this on social media:

The American Psychological Association (APA) has given Stuart Moss its 2013 Excellence in Librarianship Award for his 'significant contributions to psychology and behavioural sciences librarianship'.

Moss has been library director at the Nathan S. Kline Institute for Psychiatric Research (NKI) in Orangeburg, NY, USA since emerging from Rutgers as a librarian in 1995. In addition, since 2010 he has been a research assistant professor in the New York University School of Medicine, Department of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.

He was nominated by the researchers he serves, who described him as 'a nexus for the research that is done at NKI' and credited with transforming an 'outdated, poorly organised library … into a modern library that provides an array of electronic services'. Moss reportedly attributes his success at the job in part to his ongoing interest in and curiosity about the subjects he deals with.

The American Psychological Association’s Excellence in Librarianship Award was created to recognise significant contributions or research within psychology and behavioural sciences librarianship. The award, which consists of $2,500 and a commemorating plaque, was presented to Stuart Moss at the EBSS Research Forum, during the American Library Association Annual Meeting in Chicago.