Anthony Cond takes office as AUPresses President

Share this on social media:

Image: Liverpool University Press

Anthony Cond, director of Liverpool University Press, has become the first non-North American president of the Association of University Presses. He succeeds 2023-2024 President Jane Bunker, director of the Cornell University Press.

Cond is the Association’s first non-North American President (see a complete list of past Presidents). “Anthony’s nomination and election reflect the global vitality of the Association, with 22 of our 160 current member presses located outside of North America," noted AUPresses Executive Director Peter Berkery. 

Cond has led Liverpool University Press since 2008, during which time the press has been acknowledged by the Bookseller and the Independent Publishers Guild as the UK’s Academic Publisher of the Year. He has served on the boards of AUPresses, the Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers, and UKSG, and is currently a member of the Institute of English Studies Advisory Council. An associate editor of the journal Learned Publishing, the founder of the University Press Redux conference, and a co-founder of the EvenUP project to support equity, justice, inclusion, and belonging work among UK and Irish university presses, Cond has written about university presses for the BooksellerTimes Higher Education, and the Scholarly Kitchen,

In his inaugural statement, Cond reflected on the global vitality of the Association as well as its members' crucial role in the dissemination of high-quality peer-reviewed research, particularly in the humanities. The Association has a “collective superpower in the potential breadth of perspectives open to us – from presses around the world and from UP professionals at all career stages," he wrote. "And providing a sustainable, high-quality forum to amplify humanities scholarship has never felt more important."

Other AUPresses leaders, elected at the Association’s virtual Annual Business Meeting on May 22, have also begun their terms:

  • Dennis Lloyd, Director, University of Wisconsin Press, has been named President-Elect.
  • Alexandria Leonard, senior operations analyst at Princeton University Press, will remain in office as Treasurer.
  • Hillary Claggett, senior acquisitions editor at Georgetown University Press, joins the Board as Treasurer-elect.
  • Walter Biggins, Editor-in-Chief , University of Pennsylvania Press; Douglas Hildebrand, Director, University of Alberta Press; and Erich van Rijn, Director, University of California Press, began three-year terms as board Directors-at-Large.