ALPSP announces awards shortlist

Share this on social media:

The Association of Learned & Professional Society Publishers has announced the shortlist for the ALPSP Awards for Innovation in Publishing 2017.

The finalists are:

  • Delta Think Open Access Data Analytics Tool;
  • Escalex from IFIS Publishing and Molecular Connections;
  • INASP AuthorAid;
  • Publons;
  • SourceData from EMBO; and
  • Springer Nature SharedIt.

The chair of the judging panel, David Sommer, said: ‘With over 40 submissions addressing a diverse range of areas from the peer review process, to funding analysis and accessibility issues for developing world authors, judging has been particularly tricky this year. We believe that the finalists we have selected are not only transformative but truly innovative for scholarly publishing in what they offer.’

Audrey McCulloch, chief executive of ALPSP, added: ‘The panel has once again risen to the challenge of judging a wide variety of submissions representing the best innovations in scholarly publishing from around the world. It’s fantastic to see organisations of all sizes contributing to making our industry such an exciting place to be.’

The finalists will be presenting their submissions to our panel of judges, who represent many aspects of scholarly publishing, for further scrutiny and final judgement next month. They will then be able to showcase their products to industry peers at the ALPSP 10th anniversary conference in the Netherlands and the winner will be announced at the Conference Awards Dinner on Thursday 14 September, in Noordwijk, the Netherlands.

The awards are open to any new development, product, service, launch or project that is both innovative and of significant value to scholarly communication. The winners must demonstrate excellence in terms of originality and innovation, significance and value to the community, utility and long-term viability.